RSS

68 + 24 = 58

03 Mar

Yesterday, where I live, we got the most snow so far this Winter – we ended up with around (I think) 8 inches or so. The wind was so incredible during this storm that there were plenty of times where I could have gotten lost getting to and from my mailbox. Which is attached to my house, right next to my front door.

Needless to say, I’m certain that you can imagine the sort of cold which comes with high, gusty winds and 8 inches of snow. Now, imagine an old house, with not tight fitting door jambs, original sash window fittings and a overall general lack of insulation on a windy day. When the backdoor wasn’t properly closed.

Don’t get me wrong – I am so OCD that this has never really happened to me, BUT! I understand how it could. My usually AWESOME boyfriend was the last one to leave the house this morning – bless him for his help – and he neglected to double check the backdoor. A practice, which under normal circumstances, would only exist to appease an OCD type person, but in this instance, actually exists to prevent things like the backdoor blowing open in the middle of the day. In March. With 8 inches of snow on the ground. When it’s 24 degrees outside.

It ended up being a balmy 58 degrees inside once I closed the door, the heat was running (and still is) and we are still on a slow climb back up to optimal temperature which in my house, hangs around 68. We’ve climbed 8 degrees in 2 hours and 15 minutes. I wonder how long it took it to fall 10?

 

Leave a Reply

 
