RSS

Tying up loose ends

12 Apr

It seems that yesterday was my day of resolutions. It was the last day of my current job so there was the finalities of goodbyes to some of the folks I work with, and the difficulty of saying bye to some of those who I’ve become so accustomed to seeing on a daily basis, I really don’t know what I’ll do without having them to laugh with. You know who you are, and don’t you DARE forget about me!! Or the WHO !

In the midst of my day, I started fretting. After all, change is a difficult thing. There are a lot of uncertainties and there are a lot more reasons to be afraid to move forward. But in the last few weeks, I’ve had a lot of things change in my life which have enabled me to focus on myself, and realize that despite the hardships that will have to be endured, there is just so much more to find in life, when you aren’t holding onto things you don’t need. Jobs that are just jobs, coworkers who are just acquaintances and days that exist solely to test how much you can handle.

I had a couple of really nice surprises on my last day: a happy hour of drinking with good company, another couple hours after that making sure my tipsy friends sobered up enough to drive, and a rocking ass tune jamming ride home. Then after I got home, I had a phone call from my brother, who I haven’t talked to in months at this point. And let me tell you that it did my heart worlds of good to hear his 2 week old daughter fussing through the phone, all the way from Germany. And as last night rolled into today, I had the luck to talk with one of my dearest. With all of these surprising connections happening, I started to realize that friendship is highly underrated, and when you find people who mean the world to you, it’s worth it to do whatever you HAVE to do to hold onto them. They are the ones who put the happy in my -ness, they are the ones who make life worth living, and they are the ones who will ALWAYS be around when they are needed. Whether I know that I needed them or not. At any time, they could be a couple gals from work, an old friend who’s been around for almost half of my life, or a kindred spirit from another lifetime – but thanks to all of them, and others, my day really couldn’t have been any better.

So, I’m vowing to tie up all the bullshit that I’ve held onto for so long, and just LET IT ALL GO. Life is too short for grudges and there is too much fun to be had with those who love me to worry about the what-if’s and the could-be’s. Que sera, sera. It is what it is, and it will be what it will be. Today is the day it all came together for me, and I am going to continue working on myself, improving who I am as a person, and moving forward in life. Brand new opportunities are knocking on my door, and I can’t wait to see what they are selling. I just hope it’s not more Mormons!

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Tying up loose ends

  1. walterbean

    April 13, 2008 at 5:49 am

    HAHHAHAHAHAHAHA! I just put that picture up in my Tagged page too! I should totally put it in my MySpace too!

     
  2. walterbean

    April 13, 2008 at 5:49 am

    Fuck off. Somehow I left that comment in the wrong post. I fail at life!

     
  3. walterbean

    April 13, 2008 at 5:59 am

    Feel free to delete the last two comments. This is why Princess shouldn’t drink Vodka.

    Anyway, now you know why I messaged Mike. Your own post just answered your question.

     
  4. Unrequited Life

    April 13, 2008 at 10:04 am

    A-HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! Dude, there is NO way I’m deleting those! A-HAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!! You have to understand…but you DON’T fail at like, just at leaving comments on appropriate posts. *smile* A-HAHAHAHAHAHAH!

    As for Mike, touche my friend, touche…

    Any why are you drinking VODKA?!

     

Leave a Reply

 
