RSS

Dear {Insert name here},

29 Feb

You sent me these lyrics once. Do you remember? The other night as I drove home, I was listening to this song. Well, singing, of course, really….but REGARDLESS, my point is that in the reflection of my car window, I actually saw the words. I know, I know, but I could still see them when I closed my eyes, I saw them when I blinked…and above them, in that usual, defaulted blue font were your words: I don’t think I ever really understood this song until now. Well, I don’t think I ever really understood what you meant…until now.

Ani DiFranco ~ Sorry I Am

I’m sorry I didn’t sound more excited on the phone
I’m sorry that after all these years
I’ve left you feeling unrequited and alone, brought you to tears
I guess I never loved you quite as well as the way you loved me
I guess I’ll never really be able to tell you how sorry
I am

And I don’t know what it is about you
I just know it’s not what it was
I don’t know why red fades before blue it just does
and I don’t know what it is about me
that I just can’t keep still
I keep thinking someday I will make this all up to you
and maybe someday I will

I guess I never loved you quite as well
as the way you loved me
I guess I’ll never really be able to tell you how sorry
I am
sorry I am
sorry I am
sorry I am

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
