RSS

The Courage to Change the things I can…

12 Feb

Today, it snowed. Rather, it snowed/iced/rained/slushed as it usually does in Southern Pennsylvania. Unfortunately, when it “weathers” in PA, I prefer to be home as they do literally NOTHING to the roads until after the precipitation stops, which, as you can imagine, leads to hellish road conditions when you are driving home in rush hour traffic surrounded by people who got their drivers licenses in Pennsylvania which does not REQUIRE you to take drivers ed. Yippee effing doo all around, letmetellyou.

Living in town, albeit a small town, as I do, everyone is responsible for cleaning off their own sidewalk. And if in fact, everyone does NOT, whomever doesn’t, gets FINED. How do I know this, you may ask? Well, the abbreviated version is that I know this because I was fined last year. Now, in fairness to me, it was thanks to the wanker who lives across the street, digging his car out from the literal blizzard, and THROWING HIS CAR DIG OUT ON MY SIDEWALK. Please keep in mind that for 6 extra inches of extra “umph!” the sunovabitch coulda had it in my yard. BUT noooooooo! He threw it on the sidewalk, AND THEN LEFT IT THERE. For a week, by which time it had half-melted and then refroze so many times it was like having a glacier 10 feet from my house. The jackass never did move it – the borough did, and I paid them for it, dearly.

Onto my point…

Tonight, as I shoveled off my sidewalk, from property line to property line, I paused for a moment to ponder over the karmic goodness I would receive by continuing my shoveling, for the sake of exercise, beyond the specific area of concrete jungle that I am responsible for and just shovel out my neighbors walk, too. And I am damn proud of myself to be able to say, with no fingers-crossed-behind-my-back HONESTY, that it took me a good, solid 10 seconds before I said outloud: “Shovel your own effing walk!”

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “The Courage to Change the things I can…

  1. Momma

    February 13, 2008 at 12:24 am

    Atta girl! You probably got rid of the snow just in time for the freezing rain that will turn all walks and roads into a skating rink.

     
  2. Unrequited Life

    February 13, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    Momma T, thanks, and you TOTALLY called that one! You have learned much about weather, young Obie Wan, since moving to PA. *smile*

     

Leave a Reply

 
