RSS

Just when I was ready to shoot myself…

17 Dec

My mailbox had two Christmas cards in it when I got home this evening, bringing my total up to four so far this year. Eat THAT. Yet, despite my unpopularity as far as christmas cards go, all was right in the world as my dearest Walter had sent me one of them. I could identify it by her handwriting, and by the fact that the return addy was Hawai’i. Duh, right? (I never claimed to be a genius, ok?!?)

Her card brought me the biggest nugget of joy that I had ALL DAY. The first bit of laughter erupted because Walter celebrates Festivus, not Christmas, so to get a Christmas card from her is about as expected as me suddenly having no head/man/emotional/self esteem issues – and we all know the chances of that is slim to none. The card itself was pretty funny, too, but it was really the handwritten comment inside which made all the bullshit of today melt away into a puddle of hysterics on my kitchen floor. It read, and I quote:

I hope you have an awesome holiday season!

And if not? Who gives a shit, you’ll be in Hawai’i soon!

WOOT!

Oh Walter, how lucky I am to have you to remind me of the things that are REALLY important in life! I am so thankful to have had you as a friend for all of these years, and I can only imagine the fun and hyjinx we shall have in 22 FUCKING DAYS!!!! AWESOME!! Honolulu won’t know what hit it by the time that I leave! *wink*

Thank you for everything. I LURVE YOU!!

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Just when I was ready to shoot myself…

  1. neoauteur

    December 17, 2007 at 8:54 pm

    I only three cards thus far. I guess I’m more unpopular than you.

     
  2. WalterBean

    December 18, 2007 at 1:09 pm

    If it makes you feel any better I haven’t recieved any holiday cards yet. My little secret is that I send out cards early so people feel bad enough and send one back to me. It’s a dirty trick but it hasn’t worked at all this year.

    I am happy to hear that you liked the one I sent you though!

     
  3. Unrequited Life

    December 18, 2007 at 1:35 pm

    Walter, you are dubiously dastardly. I LIKE it! Brilliant ideas, my friend. Maybe next year I’ll actually give a shit about the holidays and I’ll send you a card and make you feel guilty first! *smile*

    And I did appreciate/like/laugh at the card you sent me, so thank you again.

    YAY!! 21 days! That’s only like, 3 weeks dude!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
