RSS

This explains a lot…it’s a full moon

24 Nov

I have a confession: I read my horoscope Every. Single. Day. It’s a impulse which I cannot deny myself of. I check a couple of different sites, with a religious furvor to rival that of the Pope and praying, as some definitely seem to give me more to infer off of than others. I read Yahoo! Astrology and Jonathan Cainer’s Zodiac Forecasts, mostly, as they seem to maintain the highest level of acceptability. They usually at least have some interesting relation to my life. I suppose part of my obsession with reading these supposed visualizations of the future which are dreamed up by a buncha people who gaze at the stars all day is that I always hope that they’re going to give me some insight into what is going to happen next. Living for tomorrow is much, much easier than living for today, at least tomorrow gives me something to look forward to. Also, cause seriously, I can’t stand waiting. And by that I mean, I can handle waiting in a line, or waiting for a cake to bake, but when it comes to the long term aspect of my life and what may or may not happen and with whom: I hate waiting with a passion. I loathe it, in fact. Patience never was a virtue of mine. I would rather do keg-stands until my head explodes than wait for whoever it is that I’m supposed to be finding. I’d rather forego shaving only my right leg for a year than “wait to see how things pan out.” I’d rather hurl myself from a moving vehicle into the path of an oncoming train only to survive, but with no arms or legs, than to have to live with indefinite uncertainty. Anything that I can infer out of my horoscope is looked at as divine intervention. I figure someone up there is telling me this stuff in an attempt to help me control my fate. And control is another one of those things that I can’t get enough of. No wonder I’m single. *smile*

I do have to admit that some days there are particular zodiac forecasts that seem so ridiculously far off, I might as well be an Aries, but then there are other days where they are so dead on, I get goosebumps. The ones that are the creepiest are when I read my horoscope at the end of the day, once all the shit has hit the fan and all of the bitch slappin’ has been dealt, and it warns me about the fights and tells me how they ended. Those are the days where it’s a literary kick to the head/ass/sensitive body part. Take today for example:

“No one else is affecting your life but you. Do not give other people the power.”

*BANG!* *CRASH!* *ZAP!* Shit. Where were you 2 years ago?! Believe me, this is a HARD lesson to wrap your head around, but oh-so-relevant! And as I’ve recently found out, ONCE AGAIN, I still have a lot to learn. Guess I’m going to keep on keepin’-on, reading my horoscopes, and waiting for a day to come when I’m less concerned with the “what-could-be” and more with the “what-is”…but don’t expect me to be happy about it.

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “This explains a lot…it’s a full moon

  1. Atherton Bartelby

    November 24, 2007 at 10:09 pm

    Horoscopes notwithstanding (I read them as well and nearly always curse them), an amazing friend of mine once played a key role in helping me through my mother’s death by sending me several Tibetan books on the topic of death. The note that he wrote to me on the Amazon gift card repeated a line from one of the books: “Live in the present moment.”

    It’s difficult to do, but if I can do it, so certainly can you, my dear.

    It’s a good rule to live by.

     
  2. Unrequited Life

    November 25, 2007 at 12:32 pm

    And as always, I thank you for your encouragement. It does give me hope to realize that I am not the only person on this spinning Globe that has these thoughts and feelings. *smile*

    Comradery is a spectacular gift!

     
  3. Laura

    November 25, 2007 at 9:49 pm

    I love your blog. It is comforting and fun to see that there are people out there that find amusement in reading their horoscopes and finding connections in their daily lives. What originally caught my eye was your title about the full moon. Seriously, I think that all the crazy people come out on a full moon. As a waitress, I see the decline in tip percentages every full moon and people are just WEIRD! Best of luck to you with everything and keep blogging about your scope. I love to read about other people’s insights…:)

     
  4. Unrequited Life

    November 26, 2007 at 8:10 am

    Laura: Thank you SO much for the encouraging words and for finding my site! I know – I always run for cover under a full moon, seems to be more to it than just speculation, eh? *smile*

     

Leave a Reply

 
