RSS

My little nuggets of Joy

31 Oct

Any good parent will tell you that it’s always all about the kids. 

Despite my ridiculous singledom, I am the proud parent of 4 children. 3 boys and 1 girl…well, it could be 6 girls if I count the fish…but that would ruin where I was going with the next line and throw me into a writers tailspin, so nix that part about the fish. My adoring children are 4-legged and furry, but they bring me more happiness and pure joy than any relatively hairless 2-legged man could. My life revolves around my dogs, as any of my friends would know. “I don’t know, it’s really hard for me to do anything after work ’cause of the kids. I can’t leave them alone that long!” Or how about “Why don’t you come up here because I have the pups to worry about. They like it better when I’m home with them.” I must admit that I’ve made many a sacrifice for the greater good of my puppy progenies, but they do my heart so much good, I can’t bear to treat them in a lesser regard.

In honor of Halloween, my kids, of course had costumes, although these were a total hand-me-down. These costumes have seen their fair share of Halloween Hyjinx. Karney was a Powerful Warlock and Russel was The Great Pumpkin. I love it! Heee!!

Costumes, Costumes! Everywhere!

Yes, those do happen to be hats atop their little heads, and I think they are adorable! Although, by the expressions below, you can obviously tell that the kids felt differently. *smile* I think this is one of my favorite pictures of the 2 of them.

The Evil Eye

Here’s a little taste of what it’s like to live with the eternally excitable Russel. He’s actually a really good puppy who amuses the shit out of himself. When he gets playing like this, I cannot help but smile. Thank god for the simple pleasures in life. I don’t know where I’d be without them.

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “My little nuggets of Joy

  1. Amy

    November 2, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    Hey, i understand completely! I too have a child as you know. AND, there is absolutely nothing wrong with wanting to stay home with your kids. They practically cannot enjoy life w/o you unlike human munchkins! As long as i can bring my kid with me, i will come to you darlin’.

     
  2. unrequitedlife

    November 2, 2007 at 4:37 pm

    And this is why I love you! *smile*

     
  3. Gail

    November 25, 2007 at 12:12 pm

    This is just too much!!!! I think I have found my other “twisted sister” and I love her!!!!!! Literally you sound like me although I am sure you are quite a bit younger than I am. Actually I think there IS another one of me out there and she is wonderful! Thank you for the smiles and I LOVE Russel who looks very much like one of my (rainbow bridge) Jack Russells but he is much more talented than Bruno was at truly “self”-amusing himself and all of us. You are making my day and I surely needed it! Thanks!

     
  4. Unrequited Life

    November 25, 2007 at 12:21 pm

    Oh Gail! How wonderful for me to know that you are enjoying what I share! Thank you for the kind words, and PLEASE feel free to read and comment as much as you’d like. *smile*

    And doesn’t it do the heart good to know that you are not alone in this crazy world? *wink*

     

Leave a Reply

 
