RSS

Self-Imposed Psychoanalytical Torture – WITH SOUND!

12 Oct

I apologize in advance, but I’m afraid to say that good ol’ nostalgia is my flavor today. Despite the fact that I am flashing way back in time for this one, and with the nail-biting trepidation that some folks may never speak of me again after this, I have to be true to myself – as this is where my head is. And to be a true Psycho-Analysis, I have to use the first thing that pops into my cavernous melon. *smile*

There are days that I worry about my sanity, and not to thicken the padding in my cell, but I have to spill the beans: I often create my own background music. Kinda like J.D. in Scrubs…I can relate any big event in my life to a specific song – usually whatever my mind was playing at the time in order to keep me amused, or it’s a rewind of the last song that I heard. It’s usually pretty befitting, but sometimes reality’s ability to write the Grammy winning musical script surprises the hell out of me. There happens to be one song in this entire wild and crazy world that always brings to mind one specific friend of mine. No one else, just him and just him at this one point in time. I can just close my eyes and drift back to that day; I relive the entirety of those few moments every time I hear it. We’re lounging on the couch, listening to this song, I believe it was even on vinyl no less, and I remember that I had never felt so comfortable in my meager little life…this is most definitely our song, if you will. And although there is no actual “us,” rest assured, if there were, this would be the song. Unfortunately, the artistic vision definitely has a ridiculous amount to do with the sentimentality of this one, so I had to dig around a little until I found the exact version. And let me tell you, I would highly suggest a listen to this one. So much so, in fact, here’s a link. *Oh, you’re welcomed* Music lovers know that there are 2 types of songs: songs where the lyrics give you all you need as their presense is so intense, the mere spoken, or read, word is enough to elicit emotion. But there are others, where you just have to hear how the song is sung, you need to hear how the music flows together with the lyrics in melodic harmony, you need to hear the vibe. Today’s trip down the musical memory lane, straight up the driveway into my head is brought to you by Sly and the Family Stone with Que Sera, Sera.

When I was just a little girl
I asked my Mother, “What will I be?”
“Will I be pretty? Will I be rich?”
Here’s what she said to me:

“Oue sera sera, whatever will be, will be”
“The future’s not ours’ to see”
“Que sera, que sera, que sera”

When I grew up and fell in love
I asked my lover, “What will I be?”
“Will I be rich, day after day?” (Sing it Rose)
Here’s how my lover sees:

“Que sera, sera, whatever will be, will be, will be”
“Ooh, que sera, sera, whatever or whoever will be, will be, will be”
“Oh, the future’s not ours’ to see”
“Que sera, que sera, what will be what will…”

Que sera, que sera, whatever or whoever will be, will be, will be
The future’s not ours’ to see
Oh, que sera, que sera, que sera

Now I have children of my own,
They ask their mother, “What will I be?
Will I be handsome? Will I be rich?”
I tell them wait and see.

Que sera sera
Que sera sera
Que sera sera  

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Self-Imposed Psychoanalytical Torture – WITH SOUND!

  1. walterbean

    October 12, 2007 at 8:39 pm

    I soooo dig on that song. I ususally get it stuck in my head after watching Heathers. That’s also when my vocabulary becomes much more colorful and interesting.

     
  2. Crusader

    October 16, 2007 at 12:04 pm

    I agree

     

Leave a Reply

 
